Building a new gaming PC! Need some advice! - Page 2 - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2012, 10:54 PM   #11 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 46
Default

You can build the absolute best system for your money by going with AMD instead of intel. All of my rigs have been AMD and they have all done me well.
For the cheapest prices and best reviews go to newegg. I've probably built 5 systems from that site and won't go anywhere else. I'm sure there are some others here that can attest to that, although many might have other views on AMD vs Intel.
I built a Killer AMD quad core setup with a GTX 570 superclocked with 8gb ddr3 for $750 USD. Granted I only got a 500 gb hard drive but that's about the only thing I compromised on. So far this rig has ran every game I've thrown at it with settings all on high/ultra on 1600x1200.

Last edited by Capita2JZGTE; 12-14-2012 at 11:00 PM.
Capita2JZGTE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 11:15 PM   #12 (permalink)
Reformed Creep-o-saurus
 
poutanen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Capita2JZGTE View Post
You can build the absolute best system for your money by going with AMD instead of intel. All of my rigs have been AMD and they have all done me well.
Yeah I usually buy my stuff from a few different companies. Newegg, tigerdirect, Canada Computers, and Wintronic... I'm sure there are places in the states that have better prices than I can get up here in the far North.

Now as for AMD vs. Intel:

PassMark Intel vs AMD CPU Benchmarks - High End Now that is just one particular benchmark, but it does show prices alongside performance. There are several Intel CPUs available faster than the fastest AMD, for the same price as the fastest AMD.

PassMark CPU Value Chart - Performance / Price of available CPUs AMD clearly has the corner of the budget market in sub 10000 point CPUs (with the exception of a few Intels).

Guess it all depends on what you're going for. When I built my HTPC a few years back I used a Core i5-750 which was way up the charts at the time, it's still a decent CPU although Intel has changed sockets again...
poutanen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 11:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 46
Default

While I agree Intels high end cpu's tend to outperform Amd's high ends. If you're looking for a budget gaming build, IMO Amd is the better choice.

Right now you can get an 8 core AMD running at 4.2 Ghz for $210

Intel's equivilent is a 6 core running at 3.9 Ghz for $1029

Now whether or not the intel shows better performance on benchmarks I can't tell you. But I'm willing to bet there's not a game on the market now or in the near future that the AMD wouldn't absolutely crush on Ultra settings.
Capita2JZGTE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 11:25 PM   #14 (permalink)
Reformed Creep-o-saurus
 
poutanen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poutanen View Post
AMD clearly has the corner of the budget market in sub 10000 point CPUs (with the exception of a few Intels).
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capita2JZGTE View Post
While I agree Intels high end cpu's tend to outperform Amd's high ends. If you're looking for a budget gaming build, IMO Amd is the better choice.


Oh yeah and 1UZ-FEs are better than 2JZ-GTEs...
poutanen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 11:42 PM   #15 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poutanen View Post
Oh yeah and 1UZ-FEs are better than 2JZ-GTEs...
Lol not entirely sure what you mean by that in regards to the amd, vs intel. But assuming you put a turbo, a mild cam, and a tune on that 1uz and the 2jz was stock then you would have quite the upset.
Capita2JZGTE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 11:53 PM   #16 (permalink)
Reformed Creep-o-saurus
 
poutanen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Capita2JZGTE View Post
Lol not entirely sure what you mean by that in regards to the amd, vs intel. But assuming you put a turbo, a mild cam, and a tune on that 1uz and the 2jz was stock then you would have quite the upset.
LOL I was agreeing with you that unless you need a 10k+ point CPU, AMDs are a better value. I even posted a link with a list full of AMD CPUs having great value! When I built mine Intel was ahead, they tend to go back and forth.

Yeah owned a 1UZ at one point unfortunately it was bone stock (expect for removing the restrictive 4 cat system and replacing it with an X-pipe).

I've been debating for a LONG time what to put in my '77 Celica. A 7M-GTE would be a nearly bolt in swap, or as close as it would get when putting a 10 year newer engine in my car. A 2JZ-GTE can bolt to a W58 so it'd also be a relatively easy swap, but they're too heavy for that car (so is the 7M-GTE)... The 1UZ is what I really want to do, but to do a good job requires a custom bellhousing (not crazy about the plate idea) to mate it to either the W58 or R154. And then I'd still probably get the bug to go for more power. And trying to cram a single or twin turbo setup into an already tight gap between frame rails would be more than I'm willing to get into for a project car.

SO... I think the engine for me is a 1G-GTE. It's a 2.0L I6 turbo, didn't come with that much power but it's a better size for the small car, relatively light, bolts to the W58, and it's already a turbo so no need to find or fab a turbo manifold if I felt like upgrading. Could just drop it in and do BPU upgrades as necessary. Now to find me one!
poutanen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 12:21 AM   #17 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 46
Default

I think a 1G gte swap would be sweet in that car. It's nearly a thousand lbs lighter than the mk3 as well. Although I would personally get rid of the twins and go with a larger single turbo.
Capita2JZGTE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 12:35 AM   #18 (permalink)
Reformed Creep-o-saurus
 
poutanen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Capita2JZGTE View Post
I think a 1G gte swap would be sweet in that car. It's nearly a thousand lbs lighter than the mk3 as well. Although I would personally get rid of the twins and go with a larger single turbo.
Thread officially jacked!

Yeah I had a GT2860RS on my MR2. It calmly supported almost 300 RWHP at 18 psi on a 3S-GTE. I'd consider the GT2860RS for the 1G, or possibly some of the newer designs...

What I really miss is my old MR2 Supercharged. If I could fit a positive displacement blower on the 1G I'd be a happy guy. Preferrably a lysholm but they're bloody expensive...

I've pretty much stripped the Celica and I'm seam welding her in my spare time. It'll be a 2000 lb beast one day!
poutanen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 12:53 AM   #19 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 46
Default

You've got me hating myself right now :P.
I almost bought an '86 MR2 I seen while walking around a pawnshop waiting for my background check lol.
I seen it and all kinds of ideas started floating through my head.
I so wanted to drop a built 2zzge inside.
I wonder if it's still there?
Capita2JZGTE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 12:55 PM   #20 (permalink)
Reformed Creep-o-saurus
 
poutanen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,598
Default

I had an '87 Hardtop MR2 I was going to turn into a track car. It had no power options so would have been the lightest stiffest MKI MR2 from the factory. I ended up abandoning that project when I got my MKII MR2 Turbo. The MKI has pretty bad brakes to begin with (relatively speaking), suspension options were harder to find than the MKII, smaller stock rim/tire size, etc. etc. etc. Plus the engine bay way pretty small. The MKII was way easier to work on.

Now the '77 Celica I've got certainly doesn't have great brakes, but there are many swaps I can do from late 80's toyotas that will be bolt on or nearly so, and the car's lighter and the engine bay bigger.

I really loved driving MR2s (owned 4 in total) but I think I'm sick of the Japanese Ferrari now! So many options for the Celica, the only thing stopping me from putting in a 2JZ-GE (and then using a turbo kit or the factory GTE turbo stuffs) w/W58 is the weight. It would practically drop right into the engine bay. Some guys use engine mounts from the MKII supra to put 7M-GTEs into late 70's celicas. It's all doable...
poutanen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
VerticalSports
Baseball Forum Golf Forum Boxing Forum Snowmobile Forum
Basketball Forum Soccer Forum MMA Forum PWC Forum
Football Forum Cricket Forum Wrestling Forum ATV Forum
Hockey Forum Volleyball Forum Paintball Forum Snowboarding Forum
Tennis Forum Rugby Forums Lacrosse Forum Skiing Forums