Fuck windows 8 - Page 3 - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #21 of 47 (permalink) Old 04-10-2013, 09:43 AM
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 753
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
I do like how 8 is faster... I don't like how it's layed out all wrong. Based on the win8 machines I've used I'd rather keep the simplicity and long boot times of 7...
KansasNoob is offline  
post #22 of 47 (permalink) Old 04-10-2013, 09:48 AM
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NJ
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Extremo View Post
That's a good start. I still don't know why I keep getting kicked out of destop mode when I open any media files. I may just go back to Windows 7.
Why? You need to set the default program to open the media files (ie Windows Media Player, MS Picture Viewer, etc).

You can do it the same way as Win 7, Vista, & XP... right click, then go to "Open With" and then "CHoose Default Program" for making that program the default program.

iirc, if you use a 3rd party start menu, then you can go to the Control Panel -> Programs -> Default Programs -> Set your default programs

Last edited by tanscrazydaisy; 04-10-2013 at 09:51 AM.
tanscrazydaisy is offline  
post #23 of 47 (permalink) Old 04-10-2013, 09:50 AM
Veteran Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
You can also create task bar shortcuts for all of the programs you use, eliminating 99% of the need for a start menu.

If you want more info on that let me know.
pdxrealtor is offline  
post #24 of 47 (permalink) Old 04-10-2013, 09:58 AM
Veteran Member
 
CassMT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Whitefish MT
Posts: 2,298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Apparently win8 is the new vista

Thankfully win7 was/is the new XP

(If your boot time is too long in 7 you need to go into the startup/boot programs list and get rid of anything irrelevant, gets clogged with stuff you don't even know its doing...)
CassMT is offline  
post #25 of 47 (permalink) Old 04-10-2013, 10:03 AM
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NJ
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CassMT View Post
Apparently win8 is the new vista

Thankfully win7 was/is the new XP

(If your boot time is too long in 7 you need to go into the startup/boot programs list and get rid of anything irrelevant, gets clogged with stuff you don't even know its doing...)
having a SSD as my boot drive also helps
tanscrazydaisy is offline  
post #26 of 47 (permalink) Old 04-10-2013, 10:19 AM
Veteran Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Ssd is the cats meow
pdxrealtor is offline  
post #27 of 47 (permalink) Old 04-10-2013, 11:02 AM
-LIFETIME MEMBER-
 
Extremo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 3,571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tanscrazydaisy View Post
Why? You need to set the default program to open the media files (ie Windows Media Player, MS Picture Viewer, etc).

You can do it the same way as Win 7, Vista, & XP... right click, then go to "Open With" and then "CHoose Default Program" for making that program the default program.

iirc, if you use a 3rd party start menu, then you can go to the Control Panel -> Programs -> Default Programs -> Set your default programs
Well that should be the default prompt. Not kicking me out to the apps menu. I'll see what I can figure out when I get home. I have windows explorer pinned to the task bar but it boots me out of desk top when I try to open it. I've been searching files to get to my media. I've never seen such a waste of time.
Extremo is offline  
post #28 of 47 (permalink) Old 04-10-2013, 11:40 AM
Veteran Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Extremo View Post
Well that should be the default prompt. Not kicking me out to the apps menu. I'll see what I can figure out when I get home. I have windows explorer pinned to the task bar but it boots me out of desk top when I try to open it. I've been searching files to get to my media. I've never seen such a waste of time.
Extremo-

Here is my setup. Notice I have the libraries or windows file explorer folder lower right task bar. That's how I access all my media and documents as well as control panel and some other locations I dropped into the favorites location. Plus all my disk drives our there as well, including SD cards when inserted.

Once you get it setup so your file explorer icon pins to your task bar and opens correctly (not sending you out of desktop mode) make sure you have the navigation pane showing.

Then customize your navigation pane to fit your needs.

File explorer should open up as shown in the picture. If not unpin it from the task bar. Go to search mode (bottom right corner then magnifying glass from slide out menu) and search for libraries. Open it and when opened it will show on your task bar. Right click and select pin to task bar.

You could also do the above but search for your computers name, mine is my first and last name, and a folder will show up. That will have the same screen as the libraries screen. The difference is you should be able to drop all your programs/locations in that folder vs. using the favorites menu in the navigation pane. This would come in handy if you didn't want your task bar clogged up with pinned program and location short cuts.

Hope this makes sense and helps. Once you get it setup you should never have to be out of desk top mode unless shutting down or restarting, or performing other system related tasks.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Windows 8.jpg (76.8 KB, 69 views)
pdxrealtor is offline  
post #29 of 47 (permalink) Old 04-10-2013, 11:48 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
that1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: On the biggest hill in Seattle
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
About the 3rd party toolbar. I have been trying to dl classic shell for several days and it gives me a 500 error and says they are working on a fix for it. I have also found while looking to replace my busted machine, they are charging way more at etailers for the same lappys with 7. So I could save money by buying the shitty new operating system and then down grade the is myself. I find it ironic to say the least.
that1guy is offline  
post #30 of 47 (permalink) Old 04-10-2013, 12:05 PM
-LIFETIME MEMBER-
 
Extremo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 3,571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxrealtor View Post
Extremo-

Here is my setup. Notice I have the libraries or windows file explorer folder lower right task bar. That's how I access all my media and documents as well as control panel and some other locations I dropped into the favorites location. Plus all my disk drives our there as well, including SD cards when inserted.

Once you get it setup so your file explorer icon pins to your task bar and opens correctly (not sending you out of desktop mode) make sure you have the navigation pane showing.

Then customize your navigation pane to fit your needs.

File explorer should open up as shown in the picture. If not unpin it from the task bar. Go to search mode (bottom right corner then magnifying glass from slide out menu) and search for libraries. Open it and when opened it will show on your task bar. Right click and select pin to task bar.

You could also do the above but search for your computers name, mine is my first and last name, and a folder will show up. That will have the same screen as the libraries screen. The difference is you should be able to drop all your programs/locations in that folder vs. using the favorites menu in the navigation pane. This would come in handy if you didn't want your task bar clogged up with pinned program and location short cuts.

Hope this makes sense and helps. Once you get it setup you should never have to be out of desk top mode unless shutting down or restarting, or performing other system related tasks.
Yeah, I can't get it to open. It just sends me back to the start page. I'll try to re-pin it and see what happens.
Extremo is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome