Pretty please. I need some computer help badly. - Page 2 - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 29 (permalink) Old 05-10-2013, 02:45 PM Thread Starter
Veteran Member
 
timmytard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: I can see Santa shoveling his driveway
Posts: 4,701
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by West Baden Iron View Post
I might be confused but I don't think your roommates modem/router should affect you if you are trying to get on your neighbor's wifi. You should just connect wirelessly to whatever he named his wifi.

EDIT: Lamps beat me to it but I agree with him that you need to unplug the neighbors modem and router, wait, plug back in a see if that does the trick.

I go through this once a week with mine. It shows connected to wifi with full bars but I can't connect to internet. I turn both off, wait a few secs, turn back on and it is then working.
No my room mates doesn't, but he'll be taking his with him very shortly.
I can connect to my neighbors.

The status of the connection in the "Network & Sharing Center" shows I'm connected, with full bars.
The Router is probably less than 5 feet away from me, on the other side of the wall.

Hopefully resetting it will work, if not I'll unplug it for a bit.
That might just be it, I've had to do it here before, but I don't think anyone ever has next door.

awesome thanks guys


TT

If whatever doesn't kill you, only makes you stronger.

Then I am so close to immortality
timmytard is online now  
post #12 of 29 (permalink) Old 05-10-2013, 03:12 PM
Banned!
 
snowklinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: L-Town
Posts: 6,996
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
at least Canadians don't lock their doors right?!

Support Local Business
"Shop Smart. Shop S-Mart!" - Ash
snowklinger is offline  
post #13 of 29 (permalink) Old 05-10-2013, 03:15 PM
Not quite reformed yet
 
chomps1211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: S.E. Mich.
Posts: 6,442
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 345 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarshallV82 View Post
Just incase it doesnt work, you will be missed.
Farewell, TT
ROFLMAO!!!!
Oh fuck that was funny!!!! (...wiping tears from eyes!)
TT, I do hope u find a solution to the problem!
If not, I'll second that quote!!!

You're only Young Once,.. but you can be Immature FOREVER!

Feb/Apr 2011. (27) days!
2011/12 (38) days!
2012/13 (48) days!
2013/14 (44) days!
2014/15 (00)
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2015/16 (28) days!

"The Older I get,.. The faster I was!!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
chomps1211 is offline  
post #14 of 29 (permalink) Old 05-10-2013, 04:40 PM
Member
 
kaner3sixteen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Calgary
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
sounds to me like the neighbours router is creating the wi-fi network ok, but there is no actual internet connection there, so you can connect to the network, but not get past that to the net itself.

might be worth checking if your neighbour can access ok, if he's paid his bill etc. might also be a problem connecting to the isp, but if he can connect and you can't, then it could be something a little weirder. if that's all good, a rest of the modem / router is the way to go.
kaner3sixteen is offline  
post #15 of 29 (permalink) Old 05-10-2013, 05:35 PM Thread Starter
Veteran Member
 
timmytard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: I can see Santa shoveling his driveway
Posts: 4,701
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
I was just on his compooter, it works fine.

I unplugged the modem/router waited a few min, plugged it back in.
Went home, checked & no interweb.

I can still connect no problem. The status says "Local Only"

That's why I believe it's in the settings somewhere

Is "Only connect locally for wi-fi" a setting? Its gotta be


TT

If whatever doesn't kill you, only makes you stronger.

Then I am so close to immortality
timmytard is online now  
post #16 of 29 (permalink) Old 05-10-2013, 06:02 PM
Veteran Member
 
MarshallV82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmytard View Post
I was just on his compooter, it works fine.

I unplugged the modem/router waited a few min, plugged it back in.
Went home, checked & no interweb.

I can still connect no problem. The status says "Local Only"

That's why I believe it's in the settings somewhere

Is "Only connect locally for wi-fi" a setting? Its gotta be


TT
Name brand of the router?
Mac or PC?

Open up your wireless configuration utility or Windows wireless config utility or Airport if you're using a MAC and tell it to connect to the SSID of your router.

Does your noeghbor have any computers directly hooked up to the router with a cable? Don't try to use an ethernet cable to the router and wireless at the same time.

Maybe buy him a sweet new router for 70 bucks that's not a pain in the ass.
Haha
MarshallV82 is offline  
post #17 of 29 (permalink) Old 05-10-2013, 07:38 PM Thread Starter
Veteran Member
 
timmytard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: I can see Santa shoveling his driveway
Posts: 4,701
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarshallV82 View Post
Name brand of the router?
Mac or PC?

Open up your wireless configuration utility or Windows wireless config utility or Airport if you're using a MAC and tell it to connect to the SSID of your router.

Does your noeghbor have any computers directly hooked up to the router with a cable? Don't try to use an ethernet cable to the router and wireless at the same time.

Maybe buy him a sweet new router for 70 bucks that's not a pain in the ass.
Haha
It's a pc, not sure brand. I'll find out.

I believe his pc is hardwired in. His PS3 is wireless.

Right now, I'm hardwired into my room mates. It's the last thing he has here.

I unplug it every time I try to connect wirelessly, it connects but only locally.


TT

If whatever doesn't kill you, only makes you stronger.

Then I am so close to immortality
timmytard is online now  
post #18 of 29 (permalink) Old 05-10-2013, 07:47 PM
Drunk with power...er beer.
 
Donutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,150
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Blog Entries: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmytard View Post
Is "Only connect locally for wi-fi" a setting? Its gotta be


TT
depending on the router, yes it can be. You can control what the router allows by MAC address (the hardwired address of your network card).


Coffee is your friend. Everyone else is an acquaintance.
Donutz is offline  
post #19 of 29 (permalink) Old 05-10-2013, 07:47 PM
Veteran Member
 
Cr0_Reps_Smit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SMiThville, NJ (Summit County in winter)
Posts: 1,697
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
maybe post up some screen shots?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Cr0_Reps_Smit is offline  
post #20 of 29 (permalink) Old 05-10-2013, 07:56 PM
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
TT, are you running Vista by any chance?
EatRideSleep is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome