Pretty please. I need some computer help badly. - Page 3 - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2013, 08:13 PM   #21 (permalink)
Veteran Member
 
slyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Milwaukee Suburbs
Posts: 2,646
Default

I wonder if your creepy roomate set up the connection as a wifi through his computer?
Did he ever access your computer. He may have set your computer to route through his to the internet.
__________________
Thanks
-Slyder
slyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 08:45 PM   #22 (permalink)
The Rooster King
 
ShredLife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 3,248
Default

i hope it doesn't happen, but if this thread was the last thing we ever saw from timmy it'd be pretty funny in itself...
ShredLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 12:55 AM   #23 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Noreaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 418
Default

Timmy, try to type in a web browser this IP address and see if you can get Google web page: 173.194.75.94

If you can see Google then your DNS settings aren't set up correctly. In that case try to get the IP address of your neighbor's router and put that number as a DNS server address in your TCP/IP settings.
Noreaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 04:36 PM   #24 (permalink)
Veteran Member
 
timmytard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: I can see Santa shoveling his driveway
Posts: 2,061
Default

Still haven't figured it out. I think it might be my laptop fuckin' up?

Right now I'm able to use it with a usb D-link plugged in, so I don't think it's the modem/router.

My laptop shutdown about 4 days ago & when it started back up it said the hard disc failed. Second restart & it started fine, since then nothing.

It was hard wired @ the time, would that have something to do with my wireless?


TT
__________________
If whatever doesn't kill you, only makes you stronger.

Then I am so close to immortality
timmytard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 04:40 PM   #25 (permalink)
Banned!
 
snowklinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: L-Town
Posts: 4,744
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timmytard View Post
Still haven't figured it out. I think it might be my laptop fuckin' up?

Right now I'm able to use it with a usb D-link plugged in, so I don't think it's the modem/router.

My laptop shutdown about 4 days ago & when it started back up it said the hard disc failed. Second restart & it started fine, since then nothing.

It was hard wired @ the time, would that have something to do with my wireless?


TT
Wouldnt be surprised one bit if your laptop set itself to hardline and just needs the wifi turned back on or something...but you would have tried that by now?....
__________________
Support Local Business
"Shop Smart. Shop S-Mart!" - Ash
snowklinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 04:58 PM   #26 (permalink)
Veteran Member
 
timmytard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: I can see Santa shoveling his driveway
Posts: 2,061
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snowklinger View Post
Wouldnt be surprised one bit if your laptop set itself to hardline and just needs the wifi turned back on or something...but you would have tried that by now?....
There is a button right beside the power button that has a satellite dish on it.
It kills my wi-fi, it's on right now & I haven't turned it off then back on. just cause in my Network & sharing center it says I am connected, only locally.

To add to the confusion, last night & this morning I was able to get my pc's built in wi-fi to connect "locally & internet". When I opened Firefox, it would say connection timed out. I was never actually able to get on the internet even though it said I was connected?

Wasn't until I plugged the usb D-link, that I was able to get on.

I don't know, @ least it's workin' for the moment.


TT
__________________
If whatever doesn't kill you, only makes you stronger.

Then I am so close to immortality
timmytard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 05:05 PM   #27 (permalink)
Veteran Member
 
AcroPhile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Denver
Posts: 922
Default

Definitely sounds like a pc problem.

Maybe it's time to get a mac. lol
AcroPhile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 05:53 PM   #28 (permalink)
Reformed Creep-o-saurus
 
poutanen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,418
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AcroPhile View Post
Definitely sounds like a pc problem.

Maybe it's time to get a mac. lol
It's never time to get a mac...

TT, as long as your comp sees and connects with the neighbours router, then your pretty close.

The DNS server issue mentioned couple be it.

Here's another possible solution:

- enable wireless and connect to his router
- open the start menu and run "command" or "cmd" (on Win XP you'll have to hit "run" then type "command" and hit enter)
- This will open up a DOS/Command prompt
- Type "ipconfig /release", hit enter, and let it run
- Type "ipconfig /renew", hit enter and let it run
- If it works, you'll have the internet back, if not take a screenshot of the results and email me
-either way type "exit" and hit enter to close the command window
poutanen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 05:57 PM   #29 (permalink)
-LIFETIME MEMBER-
 
BigmountainVMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sugarloaf, ME / Philly
Posts: 1,201
Default

First of all... does the neighbor have a all-in-one modem + router? Or are the modem and wireless router separate?

If they are separate, do you get internet access when you hardwire to the neighbors router through one of the (usually 4) hardwire access ports?

If that works, then it would be in the settings.

You can access those by using the ethernet cord coming out of the "internet" port of the router, ie. the cord that connects the modem to the router. If you pull the ethernet cord out of the modem, and put it in your comp, you should be able to access the router settings through your web browser to figure out what is going on.
BigmountainVMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
VerticalSports
Baseball Forum Golf Forum Boxing Forum Snowmobile Forum
Basketball Forum Soccer Forum MMA Forum PWC Forum
Football Forum Cricket Forum Wrestling Forum ATV Forum
Hockey Forum Volleyball Forum Paintball Forum Snowboarding Forum
Tennis Forum Rugby Forums Lacrosse Forum Skiing Forums