Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi y'all !

I'm "Snowblaze", from the Laurentians area of Quebec province. I have lots of friends who practices Skiing or Snowboarding and I don't. I would love to join them and have a blast but unfortunately I have no experience riding.

My initial plan was to buy basic equipment like a jacket, a helmet, gloves, goggles, etc but I would rent the snowboard, bindings and boots because I may not like the sport. If I don't, I can still learn skiing without having to sell the equipment I just bought.

I trusted my local sports goods store and they gave me plenty of advices regarding the equipment. I bought a matching pair of goggles and helmet from a company I don't remember the name. Giro I think. I have a brand new O'Neil jacket which I love; it's so light, comfy and hot !

So... now I'm down to skills. You cannot teach a dead bird how to fly that's for sure haha but there must be some tips and tricks about the sport. I watched the whole series on "How to snowboard" on YouTube, it was quite informative. I am a good 6'2'' tall fella and weight quite a hefty 250 lbs (muscles, muscles :)). I was wondering if learning would take a turn for the worst because of my shape... I am more prone to lose balance ?

I am trying to gather as much information as possible before I go on and ride when my local (5 min drive) mountain opens. We currently have a nice snowfall right now but it's not gonna last long enough; next Friday the snow will all melt down.

My friend promised me he was gonna teach me the basics of it, but I don't want to abuse. I want him to have fun and I don't think teaching could be fun, at all.

Thank you for your time, any input would be appreciated !

-Snowblaze.

·
Registered
451 Posts
you'll be fine. take a lesson, having friends teach you not only sucks for you... it sucks for them because they don't get to ride.