Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi !
So I want to get a board for carving only. Im not an expert but I have my level 3 instructor certification in Canada so I would say Im an advanced rider.

I currently ride a Burton Deep Thinker 156.

I would like to know if there are some "cheap" (Under 700$CAD) boardercross boards ? Also, how big is the "agressivity" difference between something like my stick and a BX board ?
If there's not anything in my price range, any Freeride - Stiff - Wide - Twin or direct. twin board that you guys would recommand to replace a BX ?
(I don't want any toe drag)

Male / 5"10 / 145lbs /9US boot size

·
Registered
1,249 Posts
People have won nationals with similar boards as the deep thinker, but would check the used markets or any local/national boardercross groups.. if that's a thing

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
People have won nationals with similar boards as the deep thinker, but would check the used markets or any local/national boardercross groups.. if that's a thing
Yes I really reallyyy like my board for carving, that's why I want to know how big is the step between that and a BX board...Will check if there are some groups.
Thanks for the reply !

·
Registered
47 Posts
In BX it is more about the glide than carving, but you definitely get on edge too. In general, BX boards are way more damp (at least the pricey ones), stiff and most of all -- the biggest noticeable difference is that they have fairly large radius sidecuts. You will also find quite a bit of taper on BX boards too.

I agree that checking the used market is a good start for something in your desired price range. Best wishes/luck!

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Out of stock for the season but For under 700$ and carving only board you should really check out the Fullbag Diamond Blade.