Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Been lurking a while guys..

Im a beginner. ive spent about 5 days on the snow so far. by day 2 i was linking turns and having a blast. day 3 i could ollie comfortably ride goofey without much effort...

I know the hire board (rossignol of some sort) was normal width, but i didnt take notice of the length.. when i went back a few weeks later I bought my own board from a bricks and mortar store in sydney....Here things go pear shaped.

I bought a K2 parkstar 157cm WIDE.
Im 178cm (so round 5'10)
88kg (190 punds)
and use thirty twos boots in US size 11!

SO day 4/5 i was having huge trouble linking turns. particularly going heel to toe and holding toe side turns... Am i going crazy or is this due to the wide board... Im considering selling the board and going with a ride machete 155cm or a 158cm in normal width... maybe i just need more lessons. regardless its going to cost me money. just want to enjoy my time on the slopes!

Just dont understand how i could go backwards so quickly in my riding.. going to thredbo in 5 weeks time and want to get my gear sorted prior to going..

·
Registered
92 Posts
most people on here would say that you don't necessarily need a wide board. It might just be you aren't used to the board, that and it is a PARKstar, so it sacrifices on mountain performance for park ability.

This is what The Good Ride said about the parkstar
The Parkstar is a good choice for someone who wants to jib everywhere and likes jumps.
In my opinion, you bought the wrong type of board for learning the basics and should have waited until you know for sure that you want to spend more time in the park than backcountry to buy a board.