Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I am looking to get a new board for nxt season.

I used rentals this season/last.

I am beginner snowboard who got linking turns down.

Abit on the heavy side with 90kgs and size 9-9.5 shoe size.

I have narrowed it down to SL or Proto. My style of riding is mostly all mountain i don't do any park at all.

However i am still not very comfy on high speeds :D Might have something to do with rentals i used they got very unstable when i got some speed.

However i am also afraid that i am not buying a board which will punish me a lot for mistakes i make since i am still learning..

Would any of those 2 be good for me? or should i look for another board?

Any help would be nice really.

thanks in advance

·
Registered
9,295 Posts
If you're not looking for park at all why is the Proto even on the list? At your ability level by the time you can really use the SL the way it needs it'll have lost a fair chunk of its "life". Everyone here raves and rants about NS and their wild durability, fact is their boards start to get pretty dead after 60-70 hard days. You'll also probably get tons of people in here stating claims theirs are just like new after 100 days. No. The contruction style doesn't hold life like boards built overseas.

Anyway. I'd be a little more budget minded. Shoot for something a little cheaper that blends ease of ride with long term rideablility. Boards like the K2 Raygun, 2014 Salomon Time Machine, Bataleon Whatever, or a Yes Basic. All of those are easy to ride and won't hold you back as you get better. Then once you're better and maybe have a little more dialed idea of what exact facet of riding yiu like you spend more on something more performance oriented.

·
Banned!
7,679 Posts