Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got into snowboarding last season and got addicted. This year I'm looking to take a snowboarding trip in early December, so I’ll need to find a place that typically has snow then. I've done a little research, and Grand Targhee, Lake Louise, Sunday River, Timberline, Mammoth and Mt Baker come up a lot as good places for early snow. Which place is best for early December snow and a beginner? Or does it even matter that I'm a beginner?

It also looks like it's entirely possible that I'll be on my own on this trip (best friends can't go, trying to decide if I should ask high-maintenance friends but leaning towards no). Being alone, I'd like to go to a place with a laid-back, friendly atmosphere where someone would actually help me if they saw me lying unconscious in the snow or something. :eek:hmy:

Finding snow is probably the most important thing in early Dec, but it'd also be good if the place was not super crowded or expensive. I'm leaning towards Grand Targhee, but what do you think?

·
Registered
3,557 Posts
I can't speak to where, but as to solo....what is your personality?

If you can talk to anyone and are outgoing you could go to any resort and have fun laid back or wild as hell.

I never understood this question. If you considering going solo and spending a boat load of money: travel, gear, lift pass, hotel, food, etc....you must already know your the kind of person that will meet someone to ride with and even if you don't that you'd still have a blast riding.

Loners or ppl that don't care wouldn't even ask this question, they'd just go and say "F all ya" go and ride where/when they want, type of personality

·
Registered
12,613 Posts
You're a beginner? Everything you mentioned besides Mammoth and Sunday River are not places I would bother going. You need well groomed, well marked, well segregated areas since you're still learning.