Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi guys
do you bring with you an all-tool/screwdriver/etc kit while you are on the slope? is it cumbersome to have on your pocket and maybe dangerous when you fall? any suggestion which one to buy?

·
Registered
539 Posts
I always carry my Burton Bullet Tool with me in a Cargo pocket in my pants. I like it because it has a ratchet system, with a good hand grip. I'm an instructor so the ratchet comes in handy with how many times I have to get it out for students. They do make tools that fit on your belt which is a good emergency on hill thing to have if worried about falling on a tool. I wouldn't carry a tool in my jacket however nor side hand pockets in my pants. Stuff in those pockets really hurt to fall on.

·
Registered
564 Posts
I don't recommend any of those cheap tools you can buy at your local shop. The Burton, Dakine etc. all suck. They rust easy, are made of low grade metals and generally are poor quality.

At a resort, I carry a short #3 Phillips screwdriver. It's a Craftsman Professional, $7 but well worth it. I also carry a mini butane blowtorch, a lighter and ptex candles.

I want to replace all my screws with one size allen head bolts but I need to source them first. As it is I only need the one screwdriver for anything to do with my gear.

·
Registered
1,129 Posts
Stuff in those pockets really hurt to fall on.
I just carry a small leatherman multi tool because when it folds down, there's no knobs or pointy things sticking out. The phillips head is close enough in size to all my binding bolts to make emergency repairs and the pliers and knife come in handy.

·
Registered
564 Posts
Leatherman is just a good tool to have anywhere you go. :D