Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know the first rule of 'boarding is ride what feels the best to you but I am hoping to get more technical than that!

Background - I have been riding since 1989 and would consider myself to be a pretty solid all-mountain rider (not park or tricks). Most on my time is spent carving, in the moguls or in steep tree areas. For the fist 25 years I always rode with my binding set in the forward/alpine position at approx +21/+9 or something like that, mostly because that is just how everyone rode and also because my size 13 boots required lots of angle to avoid overhang. Now I ride wide boards so I can get away with shallower angles and last season I experiment with duck stance, spending half the season at +19/-6 and to my surprise after a couple of runs it didn't feel much different than my old forward stance! How can that be?!?!?!

My real question is what technical pros and cons are there for the different binding angles? Anatomically a lot of things change when feet and legs are pointed in different directions and at different widths but my brain can't figure out what the results will be?!?! I have read that duck stance allows you to get lower on the board. True or false? I have read that forward stance allows the body to lean over more to carve hard at speed. True or false? I have read that duck makes it easier to turn sarply on very steep sections or in tight trees. True or False? Forward stance puts the heels further apart while duck puts them closer together but then the toes are wider apart .....does any of this lead to better or worse performance while on that edge?

Since I can comfortably ride forward or duck my goal is to understand the technical differences for which position gives advantages for all-mountain riding without having to waste the next year of my life experimenting ;)

·
Registered
1,398 Posts