Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys and girls,

I'm fairly new to snowboarding and was after some advice. I'm looking to get a high end board to suit my needs and dont live close enough to snow to try out boards. I live in Australia and only get to snow once per year if I'm lucky. I'm a fairly big guy at 6ft and 100kgs with size 10.5 boots. I'm not out there to do massive jumps or rails or go really fast down hill. I generally like to take my time and get across the whole mountain and enjoy each run. I aim for the occasional jump and do like to go off piste and enjoy turns in and out of trees but most of the time it's on groomed runs and never a lot of fresh powder as Australian snow is not the best. I'm still a beginner to intermediate. I link turns fairly easy but much more confident heading from toe side to heel side. Going from heel side to toe side is my weak point and I would love a board that would help with quicker turns. Some bindings to match would also be great.

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance

Matt

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
After a good board that is going to last for 5 - 10 years. I would rather make 1 good purchase and be happy with a decent board than having to constantly be upgrading. My first and current board was a cheap M3 package which has saved me on having to rent gear but not that much fun to ride. I am biting the bullet and want something good to really enjoy my time on the snow.

As for buying locally, Australia does not have that much and imports everything and then doubles the price... A Libtech board selling in USA would be maybe $300-400 retail and over here they would charge $800 retail... Then add boots and bindings at double the price it gets a bit ridiculous! I have a friend in Hawaii who is coming back here at end of year so that is why I am looking now.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

·
Registered
9,301 Posts