Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Thoughts on which way to go here?

I live in Hawaii, so I can't really walk into a shop and try everything on.

I'm 6'1", 185lbs. Size 11 Burton Ruler boots (bought them in 2012).

I just ordered up a Jones Frontier 161wide snowboard. Upgrading from a 2012 Signal Omni Wide 162. I also have a Bataleon Camel Toe board sitting in Japan that I hope to use 1 day, and I would swap the bindings over to it if the conditions are right.

I've been riding off & on since 1998. I mostly ride Japan or Tahoe nowadays, but I can also do other USA spots in the future.

Looking for Freeriding, Powder when available, Happo-Banks style board parks, and slow speed cruising with my wife/daughter.

I don't jump besides small hits, I don't butter, I don't do rails, etc. I don't ride switch much.

I don't charge hard or bomb down the mountain fast, although I'm hoping to re-boot my riding the correct way. I know I have bad habits on being upright.

My current bindings are 2007 Burton Cartel where I swapped out the high back binding from Burton & put low backs on them. My forward lean stoppers on my bindings fell off years ago.

Sooooooo, with all that being said, what are the thoughts on choosing between the Burton Cartel bindings versus the Jones Mercury bindings? Like would the Cartels fit better with a Burton boot?

Any other bindings in the sub $300 price range to also consider?

Aloha!

·
Registered
15 Posts
I am currently using both now drive and Burton Cartel. I love the now drives. Feels great. Straps might be a bit better on the burtons though. I would go with the mercurys if i were you since they are a re-branded now drive.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3