Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey All,

It's almost been a year since I first tried to post my review. It got deleted and I got so caught up in school I needed the ride to be fresh in my mind before I tried to write it again.

My Specs:
Skill Level: High Intermediate
Height: 5'8"
Weight: 195 lbs
Boots: Size 9 K2 Maysis
Bindings: Rome Katana @ 15, -12 & 21.75" wide

Mountain: Lookout Pass, Idaho/Montana

Conditions: Just dumped 30" of fresh.

*This review was written based on my own unbiased views and opinions of the gear I rode. I own it personally and was not loaned anything for testing. Also, while I have about 16 years experience total, I still consider myself just a mediocre 'above average' rider, so my perspectives don't come from as much skill or experience as many other reviewers on here.*

Handling:
I was really pleased with how the board handled in varying conditions, including the deep pow. It's not a powder board of course, but the extra 1 cm of nose did help a little bit. To me it felt like a nice medium to medium-stiff flex. I really enjoyed the way it carved and it had some nice snap out of turns. (Coming back to camber after a few years of trying out assorted reverse camber boards felt goooood!) Finally, while I didn't push it too hard, I never felt like the board couldn't handle what I threw at it and was pretty stable at speed, yet maintained good board feel.
One note, while perhaps some uber aggressive riders might not care for them, I really appreciated the tiny bit of extra forgiveness I got from having the uprise fenders, while still reaping a lot of the benefits of riding camber. As Nivek has said it feels better driving through the Griptech contact points than how you might traditionally ride an old camber stick.

Ollies/Pop off jumps: