Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Recent WA weather is awesome, lots of snow.

However, I found myself feeling blind despite seeing during really heavy snow. Everything was one single solid white color. I found myself having issues judging the slope angle or detecting bumps. Once it slowed down a bit it was fine.

Is this something that gets better with time or are there any helpful tricks? I'm still a beginner.

Thanks,
Olex

·
Registered
726 Posts
Rose/orange lenses can help increase contrast but its always going to be difficult. Experience can help but if you can see you cant see.

·
Reformed Creep-o-saurus
6,863 Posts
One of my tricks for any low light days is to head to the trees. If there are no glades at your hill, even just the sides of the run should have better depth perception than the middle of the hill.

Mostly though you just have to slow down...

·
Registered
42 Posts
no man, some days just blow for visibility. the right color lens helps, but I've been in whiteouts before where you don't know which way is up or down.
Schweitzer Mountain by Sandpoint ID I had that happen to me.

I didn't know which way was up or down, wasn't sure if I was even moving! it was pretty crazy, worst conditions I've ever rode in.

·
Registered
33 Posts
sounds like your in the PNW sat was terrible unless you were in the trees, i was riding a board that couldn't cut its own lines so i got stuck everywhere other then riding other peoples lines in the trees.

sunday was prefect tho

·
Registered
1,684 Posts
Schweitzer Mountain by Sandpoint ID I had that happen to me.

I didn't know which way was up or down, wasn't sure if I was even moving! it was pretty crazy, worst conditions I've ever rode in.