Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Heyyo,

So I'm pretty happy with my Ride Machete 155 for groomers and kickers. I'm at about a low intermediate to intermediate level. I would really like to get into some freeriding, like technical steeps, glades, bigger natural features like cliff drops, etc. I remember moving up from a noodle to this Machete and how it seemed to just bulldoze uneven snow stably rather than ride bump-ily over it. I'm wondering if going to an even stiffer board that is made for freeride will help with that. How big is the difference going from my machete to a plank? Is it worth the upgrade? Another factor is that I won't be doing ALOT of riding .. I'm a busy college student, so maybe 25 days up this year. But I'd like to make those days amazing so let's try not to make this too much of a factor.

I was also wondering if you had any opinions on the Rossi Premier from a while back. I've found a few used Premiers for sale online and I saw a few riders at the Swatch Freeride World Tour do some gnarly ass riding with them. Do you feel that the tech is too outdated from the 2005-2007 Premiers? Other options I'm thinking about are the Rossi Experience and Slash ATV. If you have any recommendations for boards that would be great, too!

Thanks for your help!

·
Registered
9,295 Posts
Yeah pretty outdated to be honest. Especially for a freeride board.

The XV is s super good board. It'll ride over anything, rocks, ice chunks, rodents, small children, but it's not a dead plank either.

If you want something with a different approach look at the K2 Ultra Dream. It's a surfier feel, but super stable and damp enough without being dead. So not a precise freeride thread the needle machine like the XV, but will totally handle anything you can find in bounds. And is stupid fun in powder.

·
Registered
9,295 Posts