Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm sure you guys get these posts all the time so take it easy on me. My name is Wesley. I live in Arkansas where it's 110 degrees and we get no snow. However, due to some awesome ass circumstances I'm moving to Steamboat Springs, Colorado.

I need advice on what type or boards and bindings I need to be looking at. I'm a complete beginner but I'm not looking to waste money renting. I plan to snowboard several days a week for the entire season. Also I don't want to get a complete beginner board and have to upgrade soon. I'd rather spend a little more up front and have a solid board/boots/bindings I can use for awhile without the need to upgrade as my skills progress. (assuming they will).

Any advise will be greatly appreciated. Websites for clothing and gear etc.

I don't know what type of riding I will prefer so am I right in assuming an all mountain board will be a good starting point?

·
Registered
12,606 Posts
Get to Steamboat. Go to the base area, walk up the stairs to Powder Tools. Ask for Bernie and tell him your needs. He will set you up and you'll get introduced to snowboarding properly.

·
Banned!
7,679 Posts
OP you probably don't realize how much you just got hooked up.

Do what BA says and don't look back.

Steamboat is the sickness grats on getting out of Arkanshit.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yeah me and a friend visited Steamboat this past weekend. Definitely a sick ass little town. I had never heard of it until my buddy got the job offer. Google'd it and we were both sold. With a little luck I'll be there by October.

Will a grand be enough to get me a solid set up as far as jacket/pants/boots/board/bindings?

·
Registered
12,606 Posts
Tell him your budget and he will get you squared away. You just got given the best snowboard shop and best sales guy in that town. Remember to tip him with a man can of pbr.

·