Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding for 8 years on a K2 Darkstar 157 (2008).
I like fast carving and have experimented with powder. But I also like the flexibility in the K2, but wanted to step it up and also find a board that rides better in powder. I guess I'm in between freeride and all mountain, but doesn't go to the park or jumps at all.
I have been looking at the Jones Flagship and Head The Day 2016-2017.
I would like to maintain the same control in carving and uneaven terrain - also in low speed as the K2 has offered. When I look at the reviews, Jones and Head - are both rated with the same or better ability in carving and uneaven terrain when compared to the K2.
But in most reviews it is stated that the flagship and head do not ride as well in low speed, but won't both the flagship and head perform better in carving and uneaven terrain than my K2? I mean the comparison that is reviewed in the flagship and head is towards other boards in the same league, so the flagship might not be the best for carving and maneuvering in lower speed in its league, but it will never the less perform better than the K2 Darkstar? Or what are your experiences?
And if I go for the flagship or the Head - which size should I choose coming from the K2 157?
Cheers
M

·
The Swiss Miss
7,380 Posts
To you, comming from a soft freestyle board, the torsionally very stiff Flagship will not feel like a step up but rather like a shock. (Dunno the Head).

Look for a medium-stiffish flex freeride board.

·
Registered
10,667 Posts
Seems like a good fit for something like a Never Summer The West or Capita BSOD. More suited for what you're describing, but still relatively flexible and freestylish.

Agree with neni on the Flagship. Not sure on The Day. Cool shape, but I know nothing about the rode of that board.

·
Registered
32 Posts