Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everybody,

I am new to this forum. I live in The Netherlands and I have about 5 years of snowboarding experience in Austria. Next year, I will go to Austria for a week with my parents who are experienced skiers and with my girlfriend who has never done any kind of snowboarding before. My parents will take their own route and my girlfriend and I will go our own route so I can teach her the basics of snowboarding with the goal that she will be able to go down a red piste with some nice curves at the end of the week.

I will be staying in a hotel room with her so after the snowboarding day I have time to explain things she may have done wrong.

Are there any specific things I should tell her or watch out for? Do you guys have any tips on how to teach her?

·
Premium Member
484 Posts
Here is the most valuable piece of advice that has been said on here many times before: If you want to stay in a relationship, don't teach her yourself. Buy her a lesson from a qualified instructor. Your sanity and sex life will thank you later.

·
Registered
1,861 Posts
Two of my oldest school friends came on their first trip this Jan. They had a private lesson every other morning and practiced in the afternoons. Towards the end of the week I took them to the top of the mountain - we had a great (if slow) day. No real coaching from me other than 'get your weight over your front foot more, no more... a bit more, thats it'. It worked and they're both booked up for next season. Whatever you do don't push her - the key is to make sure a newb has fun. You might want to look at group lessons, progress might be slower but she'll have more fun and it really helps to have others of similar ability around.