Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a beginner/intermediate rider looking to purchase my first board.

I have the option of getting the above two boards used but nearly new. My stats are 185cm, 180lbs, uk 11 boots. I want it for mainly riding groomers with family and then a little of everything else.

I can get the Jones Mountain Twin in a 162W and the Warpig in a large. However, the Mountain Twin is £120 more than the Warpig.

Which would you say is best? Is the mountain twin worth the extra?

I only want to have one board so looking at something that will do everything.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I agree. The mountain twin 162w is too big for you. Warpig in large or medium is both fine. With UK11 personally I would go large no problem.
I agree. The mountain twin 162w is too big for you. Warpig in large or medium is both fine. With UK11 personally I would go large no problem.
Yes, I was a little unsure of the MT size although the size chart on jones boards suggest 150-200lb for the 162w.

·
Registered
291 Posts
Out of Mt
Which out of the two would you then go for MT or Warpig?
Tough call, you could go either way really, maybe others can chime in with their thoughts.

Personally, I’d go medium warpig for sure. Very versatile. Would handle pow better, carves great, and you can still ride switch no prob. If it’s used, that’s ok, I think ride boards are better when broken in a bit anyways.

With the mountain twin (taking your boot size and weight in to account) I would be looking anywhere in that 156w to 160 size range. Just depends on your preference/riding style.

·
Registered
1,242 Posts
I'm 150 lbs, size 8, and ride the medium (151) Superpig. But then I tend not to downsize too aggressively even for the short fatties. Given that OP doesn't have a choice with size, I think the L Warpig will suit him fine.

·
Registered
1,101 Posts