Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Heya,
I'm just starting out snowboarding (2 or 3 times) and I'm super excited about the sport. I've done a ton of research on board types and jargon and board characteristics and what have you, so I decided I didn't want to use rentals anymore and wanted to have my own board.

I'm 6"3, around 200 lbs. Ever since I started out, I was really interested in high speed carving / powder riding / freeride sort of snowboarding. So, after going around to a few snowboard shops in my area, I settled on a Korua Pencil. Really is a beautiful board. Issue is, though - a lot of sources mention that "you need to know what you're doing" with this board. None of them say it's particularly bad with beginners, but they say that you'll need to be on your game if you really want to bring the life out of it. That being said, was this a bad purchase? I didn't want a beginner board because I wanted something that I could use even as I improve, rather than buying a soft, flexy beginner board and then realizing that it's hard to stay stable at high speed 1 or 2 seasons later. I saw it as a much better investment to just buy something that's going to do what I want to do when I'm at a higher level. For reference, the korua pencil is medium-stiff. My bindings are medium, and my boots are medium-stiff.

Though, I've also seen a lot of people mention that getting stiffer, cambered (it's early rocker at the nose, camber under feet), more advanced-oriented boards will teach you good form & technique right when you're starting due to their less forgiving nature. As much as I'd like to side with these guys rather than the guys telling me to put it in the closet, I'd also like your opinions.

Let me know!

Attachments

·
Registered
1,502 Posts