Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
445 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

First off, I understand that this should technically be in the PNW regional forum but I thought I'd get more responses here. Hope thats alright...

The gf and I have been tossing around the idea of moving from the northeast (we live in Boston) and head out west somewhere. I posted about this awhile ago but I digress...we've finally pegged it on Oregon/Hood River area. She's got extended family in the area and is applying to school out there as well. We thought it'd be a good place to set up shop.

We've begun probing our contacts for job leads and opportunities but I wanted to hear from local residents what types of industry/business lie in this part of Oregon? I currently work as a consultant in the green building industry but am open to opportunities. Whats the job market like?

On the other hand I wanted to ask about general lifestyle and "attitudes" in the PNW. Friendly? Down to earth? What do most people do for their free time?

We're obviously snowsports enthusiasts and do a lot of backpacking, hiking and mountain biking in the summer.

Thanks for your help!

·
Registered
8,200 Posts
ganja farmer and meth short order cooks are needed

cascadia can be great or not, old hippies, nouveau cali, ech nurds, tea right, grungeneck, military...it really depends on where you pick. Green building...building salvage/re-use is pretty hot. I moved out in 89...there are some great areas and very shitae places...just factor availability or access to the outdoors....I could easily ride in the morning, dh in the afternoon, kayak/sail in the eve...and do fresh micros and grilled salmon for dinner.

·
Registered
562 Posts