Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
268 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I'm a little unsure about this... I was looking for some new boots. I've always used traditional lacing because I started riding in the early 90s before the BOA thing. I've borrowed boots, rented boots, demo'd boots...But I've always, always, always had heel lift problems. No matter what boots I ride, I get heel lift. I've been wearing boots 1/2 too small trying to prevent heel lift, and I STILL get it, but with added numbness as well.

So with no on-hill experience whatsoever I pulled the trigger on a pair of double BOA boots online. The K2 Contour (basically the women's version of the Maysis.) They are supposed to be good for preventing heel lift. They have BOA lacing for both the outer and the lining.

But I got a couple questions about the whole BOA thing. There is one BOA wheel for the entire outer lacing. How do you adjust the top or bottom of the boot independently (or can you not do that?) In a perfect world these boots will actually fit on the hill and I won't need to adjust/tighten around the ankle while trying desperately to keep the bottom looser and blood in my toes. But how is this supposed to work? I can't figure this out.

Also, by the time I really pack 'em out, I won't be able to return them. I'm a little worried about the cables causing issues when they do pack out, like digging into the boot or my foot. Does the BOA lacing become painful over time, or are they pretty reliably comfy long term?

*NOTE* Yes, I bought a pair of boots online site unseen. I know, I know. I'm trying to save some money! In NYC, you are paying MSRP even on past season's gear in the brick and mortar store. So even with return shipping, I'm still saving crazy cash. While a pro bootfitting would be preferable, it prolly ain't happening.

·
Registered
145 Posts