Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey y’all I’ve been snowboarding for a couple years now pretty casually and I’ve just started to get serious about it and really want to be able to become proficient at carving. I have footage of myself (which I will attach) that I think shows me skidding my heel side carves. I’m grateful to anyone who wants to help give me as much criticism and tips as they can because anything helps!!

·
Registered
617 Posts
The first thing to improve is to get rid off the back foot ruddering. Both the heelside and the toeside carves are initiated by a pivot of the back foot instead of digging in the edge from the front foot at the initiation phase.

This is very common to self-learners. There is plenty of instructional videos on Youtube.

What I’ve found helpful while teaching my friends (that I still forced to work on the basics with an instructor for the first 2 days to have their first turns) is to keep your both hands at all times over the tips of the board. At all times. This greatly reduces the counter rotation that results in ruddering and makes you bend your knees more (you do bend them already).
You need to go back to the basics for a short time to silence the upper body a bit.

When you have it corrected, imagine that your turn starts from the toes and heel on your front foot. You need more weight distribution there. You can help yourself with pointing with the front hand the front part of the sidecut that you want to engage to start the turn (the widest part of the nose). The back hand should be still over the tip. You’ll start scarving the turns.
The next step will be to start feeling the balance on edge. To do so you need to overexaggerate multiple times with your butt low so it doesn’t hurt and you are ‚calibrating yourself’ between riding not enough edge and going too far over it.