468 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Gnu rider's choice right now but it's getting pretty beat up
trying to decide to go for an SL or a proto
any suggestions?

·
Registered
753 Posts
I have an 2012 sl and 2011 evo(sorta like the proto im guessing...)

I'd go with the sl if youre looking for more freeride style or if your into the park/freestyle tricks id go with the proto. Anyways that my take on it im not a board expert though.

·
Banned!
7,679 Posts
The SL still does plenty of things better than the proto. It certainly isn't the old proto. They certainly aren't interchangeable for the same riding style.
The only reason they aren't interchangeable is that the SL is more limited. With the new ProtoHD, your looking at even more advancements. I didn't mispeak, the Proto dominates. What's the point of an "almost" twin? I'm not going to sit here and try to own your mind or something but I'll stand by what I said and agree to disagree.

Just because you assert your opinions doesn't make them factual statements.

·
Premium Member
3,553 Posts
The SL could be a great board if it wasn't for the significant set back stance. For a freestyle board and inch is way too much. It doesn't ride well switch and I hate spinning on a directional board.

The Proto HD does everything better IMO. Unless you prefer a directional board.

·
Registered
1,874 Posts
The SL is a little damper and floats a little better. The Proto spins a little better and rides switch a little better. There's not much in it. To say the SL is obsolete is a little silly though.

·
Premium Member
3,553 Posts
The SL is a little damper and floats a little better. The Proto spins a little better and rides switch a little better. There's not much in it. To say the SL is obsolete is a little silly though.
I don't know if you've been on the Proto HD, but I found it to be just as damp as the SL with roughly the same flex and a little more pop.

·
Banned
1,966 Posts