Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This season, I updated my setup that I had been riding since 2004(!!!) I was way overdue for some new gear, granted, some years I only got out twice, and there were a few years I did not get out at all due to an injury (unrelated to snowboarding). I ended up picking up a new Burton Custom (camber), with Genesis bindings and Photon boots. I am riding at the reference stance (which is setback), and am using +15, -10 as my angles. I am on the ice (east) coast. I would put my skill level at intermediate.

I've been out 3 times this season, and notice I have been struggling on easier terrain on my heel side. I am not talking about situations where I am carving, but cases where I do a quick speed check or decide to skid a turn. I am not sure in these cases if I am leaning too far back, or not leaning back far enough, or maybe I need to adjust the pressure on my back/front foot? To be honest, it has never been something I really thought about on my old board. Yesterday, I did the same run 3 times, and 2 of the 3 times I fell in a very similar spot, in very similar snow conditions. It was a flatter spot near the top of the run and it wasn't THAT icy, it was just pretty hard pack. The rest of the run was fine, and the sections where I picked up some speed felt great. I did some (nowhere near perfect) carving with skidded transitions in a few spots that also felt good.