Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I need a little advice. Ive been skateboarding for 10 years, but Ive been getting into snowboarding the past 2 years just ridin on a buddies 150 artifact, but im looking to go hard this season. Im 5'4 130 lbs and Im lookin for advice on board size and what kind. I think i should go with a 147 or 148. I love riding park; jibs, rails, boxes, and occasionally kickers. Ive been looking at all the brands and models and im still undecided. Any advice all around?

Thanks

·
Reformed Creep-o-saurus
6,863 Posts
Yeah a 150 is a little big for someone with your weight. Something in the mid 140's would be better.

Honestly the board isn't critical to learning. Get good fitting boots, and then see if you can pick up a used mid-range board around a 145-146 or so (a couple cm isn't going to kill you either way).

Especially if you're going to be riding a lot of park, you'll chew through boards like mad. Better to start on something used so you don't cry when it gets it's first ding! :giggle: I only say that because it's happened to all of us...

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Im pretty advanced after riding the 2 years. i dinged my buddies artifact up quite a bit, im not worried about that. Im passed the basics, I just need recommendations on what size/brand/model I should use. like I said skateing 10+ years really makes snowboarding easier.

·
Reformed Creep-o-saurus
6,863 Posts
Take a read through the other threads here, there are a million guys with the same question as you, and we're going to spit out the same answer! As far as size goes I'd aim for 145-146 or so, but that depends on the board too.

·
Premium Member
1,223 Posts
We need a sticky for new riders/people looking to make their first purchase.

I always want to help, but get tires typing the same thing over and over.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #8