Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi, I've been riding for 11 years. Mostly pow freeride and sometimes carving (I'm not interested in jibbing, parks etc.). Now I'd like to buy a new board. I have three options:
- Never Summer Raptor 169cm
- Jason Flagship 164cm
- Nidecker Megalight 163 cm

I have 1,88 m and 78 kg (170 pounds). I like the most NS Raptor bot I'm afraid that my weight is too low for the Rapto. Wchich one from this three positions do You recommend me?

·
The Swiss Miss
7,412 Posts
Hi, I've been riding for 11 years. Mostly pow freeride and sometimes carving (I'm not interested in jibbing, parks etc.). Now I'd like to buy a new board. I have three options:
- Jason Flagship 164cm
- Nidecker 163 cm

I have 1,88 m and 78 kg (170 pounds). I like the most NS Raptor bot I'm afraid that my weight is too low for the Rapto. Wchich one from this three positions do You recommend me?
Whats your boot size? The Raptor is rather on the wide side, Flag rather narrow. What conditions/terrain do you aim to ride? Deep pow? Light or heavy snow? Open terrain? Sidecountry, backcountry? Also all day in resort?

Both are great freeride decks, will carve and are great in pow, but they differ in the details. Raptor is softer and very forgiving in uneven terrain, afternoon bumps, and more agile. Flag is less forgiving but super stable at speed and IMO superior in pow (its rocker nose begins to rise immediately after the inserts). I don't like the slightly squirrelly feel of CRC decks (Raptor) too much, prefer the RCR (Flag), but that's a personal thing...

Disclaimer: I only know the Raptor and Flag from '13. The boards may have changed since, I hope, others will chime in. Got a '15 Flag at home, but not yet ridden it - counting the days :)

·
Registered
6,267 Posts
169cm is gonna be way too big for your weight if you like doing anything other than just bombing wide open runs.