Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know this question has been asked before, but here it is again. I've been snowboarding for over 20 years in buffalo ny on mostly hardpack consisting of crud, ice, and artificial snow. I almost never go in the park mainly because of park rats sitting and standing everywhere, but if its relatively empty i'll hit some table tops and that's about it. I mostly like to just bomb and carve along the edges of the trails looking for any powder and where there wont be anyone in my way. So..

I'm looking at a 154 lib tech trs or 154 NS proto hd? I'm really indecisive, done all my homework on each board..just never rode any..so im lookin for as many opinions as possible. 5'9'' 170lbs
THANKS

·
Banned!
7,679 Posts
2 overpriced bandwagon decks (disclaimer I own/love a proto)

Well if you are going to buy a $600 board, you may as well get the one that is the most worth it, which is going to be the Proto hands down. You get better durability (ie. carbonium topsheet, fully wrapped edges), better warranty(3yr vs 1), an infinitely better base (5k+ sintered graphite impregnated (probably one of the fastest bases in the industry) vs dogshit plastic beans or whatever the fuck they claim in in their cheap ass non sintered bases at mervin).

Of course I personally am going to pick NS hands down, and you've chosen two decks which are going to garner alot of fanboyism where everyone is going to have a strong opinion one way or the other. It is fair to say that this site is rife with blinded NS and Mervin fanbois.

Meaning you should look at only 2 things: stats and experience. Demo both, if you like the TRS better, get it. If you can't demo them, the Proto owns the stats. If you pick the TRS it will be cuz you got convinced by the graphics or that you NEED magnetraction (you don't).

For your riding style I would say get a 156 Heritage, tbh.

·
Registered
2,929 Posts