Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My wife wears glasses and cannot wear contacts.

Can anybody recommend a good pair of prescription goggles that are not too expensive?

Where can she get them? I don't think Lens Crafters carries them...

Thanks in advance!

U

·
0 Posts
im by no means an expert on the subject. but in my searches ive seen "over the glasses goggles" might be a cheaper (if they even make prescipt goggles) solution.

D

·
0 Posts
OTG goggles

i have just started to board this year, and got a pair of OTG goggles (bolle) for my birthday.

OTG goggles are definitely cheaper in comparison to prescription goggles, but here comes the major thing ... if she is going to wear glasses underneath, check that her glasses frames are not too wide and touching the lenses. i am having some problems with that right now and end up fogging up my goggles all day on the slopes. also, my glasses frames are getting completely bend out of shape in order to get a better fit.

hope this helps a little ...

·
Registered
351 Posts
duckie....sounds like someone I know.... :confused::confused:

A friend of mine has perscription water goggles, so I'm sure you can get perscription board/ski goggles.

Anon and Scott seem to make fairly wide frames, see if they have any over the glasses solutions, smith may too.
The bolle are spherical in shape/design so as duckie above said, fitting them over glasses may be a bit uncomfortable.

EDIT1: http://www.smithoptics.com/Over-The-Glass-(OTG)_Category_14.html found after a quick search
EDIT2: price seems very reasonable

·
Premium Member
2,936 Posts
Boo to prescription goggles. I got to be dad's guinea pig for that stuff and it was CRAP. If anything, stick to slightly larger goggles, like Oakley Wisdoms. Rx goggles are basically just a single lens with an insert. You can't change the colour of the lenses and they have no venting.

P

·
0 Posts