Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 20 of 68 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey, I'm a senior Industrial Design student in Boston, MA

For my thesis I decided to focus on solving the common problem of staying balanced and sliding down the hill when you are trying to strap-in while standing.

I can't be the only one that always ends up sliding down the slope when I'm still trying to strap-in! It's even worse for me since I use Flow bindings. So I am basically going to design a product that a rider could buy and use to stop this from happening. Snowboard binding innovation has been great recently but no one has addressed this problem. Just because I can slide my foot into Flows quickly, doesn't mean I can always prevent myself from sliding while doing it.

It would really help legitimize my thesis proposal if I got a bunch of responses on the SURVEY BELOW. The 8 question survey should only take a minute to complete. I look forward to seeing your feedback. Thank you.

LINK --> https://qtrial2014.az1.qualtrics.com/SE/?SID=SV_77gx3XgwERl19Dn

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah haha, I'm thinking it will be something that attaches to the board and can rotate to stick into the snow to keep your board stable. Or something small the rider carries and can wedge in the snow to keep the board from moving. Not really in the design phase yet, working on research and collecting data to back up the idea.

·
Registered
12,496 Posts
Or you know you could stop, pick the board up with one leg, slam it down into the snow a little heel edge heavy, do this till it makes a slight groove and locks you in, then strap in. I mean I know solving problems that don't actually exist is every engineers wet dream, but after 20 plus years of snowboarding and seeing technology grow and get better I can't say this is a serious problem that needs to be addressed.

Save yourself the time, headache, and eventually money and just ride more.