Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am in the process of redesigning the snowboarding backpack for a day on the mountain. I'm a design student so I thought this is the perfect opportunity for me to take on a new challenge.
I have only been snowboarding for two years so I wanted to ask others that have more experience. Do you wear a backpack, if so which one? What are other backpacks lacking? What do you carry in your backpack? What features would you want in backpack? And anything else that you think would be useful.

·
Registered
164 Posts
Yes, there are indeed rules to follow re this type of enquiry. TIP: I have found it's a good idea not to expect everyone to be open to new ideas in this industry unless it's a known brand.

Plenty available for the average person who just wants one on their back in an attempt to look cool, but perhaps something specifically designed for the backcountry enthusiast may find a market.

Good luck with it.

·
Registered
869 Posts
Waterproof. Fleecelined goggle pocket. Back protector and backpanel access. Top handle. Ability to connect shoulder straps for onestrap mode. Hipbelt with pockets and large buckle. Separate bc-pocket with drainage and room for shovel/probe/poles/skins/crampons. Waterbottle compartment in the bottom that you can access without taking your pack off. Reflex bands. Snowboard carry. Durable fabric and zippers. Helmet carry on top at least.

·
Registered
60 Posts
I've owned a dozen different backcountry ski/snowboard packs, but have yet to find one that includes everything I want in a pack.

For me, the perfect DAY TOURING pack will be 20-25 liters and hold:

shovel
probe
climbing skins
helmet
goggles
food/snacks
water
puffy jacket
spare warm mitts