Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey ya'll, I've been snowboarding for about 5 seasons. I considered myself an intermediate rider.
I could go in the trees, ride powder, link turns without skidding, I don't do tricks but I can ride switch if I need to, I can go down steep terrain, avoid out of control skiers and snowboarders, ride a traditional camber without eating $%#@^&
About a year ago I started having some vertigo and tunnel vision from neurological Lyme disease and I feel like I am now regressing on my riding level instead of progressing, I feel like I am a newbie again and I forget things I was able to do before, I assume this is because of the loss of peripheral vision and sudden vertigo, although it could totally be just me getting bad at snowboarding.. I really don't know (not asking for medical advice here, just wanted to mention it)

The issue that annoys me the most is that I cannot seem to link my turns like I used to. I am very comfortable on my toe edge and I can turn with a perfect shape, but the transition from toe edge to heel edge is where the problem starts.
I can't turn towards my heels without almost completely stopping the board, sometimes is so bad I end up riding switch to be able to go to the other side or my toe edge.
I am aware of bending my knees, going in a straight line between toe edge and heel edge, keeping my center of gravity over my board, not over rotate, etc, or at least in my mind I am.

This is very frustrating because my riding isn't fluid anymore and stopping the board so much on my heel edge reduces my speed significantly and I can't keep up with my friends anymore.
The steeper the run, the more this happens.