Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

My measurements are 180 lbs / 80 kg, 5'6 / 170 cm, size 8,5 foot. Stance angles 18 / -6.

I have been riding for more that 10 years and dislocated my shoulder like 8 years ago. I just started riding last year back again and now focusing mostly on all-mountain, freeriding and trying to chase powder as much as I can. No park, doing small jumps on side hits, almost eurocarving and ollie 180s.

Last year I bought a Jones Frontier 159 with 25,4 waist width as an all mountain deck and I have been very happy with it this year on groomers and in powder.

Now I am really looking for a mid-wide / wide volume shifted resort ripper on the shorter end with good powder riding capability.

So far my shortlist in order of inclination as below, also based on the discounts I could find in Europe after the end of season. Prices are between 350 to 450 EUR.

• Jones Hovercraft 156 with 26 WW => not much shorter and not too wide compared to the Frontier, still very directional, a great carver and very good in powder
  • Korua Stealth 156 with 26,9 WW => maybe too wide for my smaller feet but love the shape, only hearing great things about Korua shapes. A bit curious about long term usage of Korua boards.
  • United Shapes Orbit 154 with 26,1 WW => good size for me, read and watched great reviews, maybe too stiff, curious about the brand and the long term reliability similar to Korua.
  • Korua Dart 156 with 26,9 WW => same comments as Stealth + is it too directional?
  • Rome Stalefish 153 with 26,5 WW => shorter and wider compared to other boards on this list, I guess also softer.
  • GNU Gremlin 155 with 26,4 WW => a bit on the longer and wider side, but still looks like a great board. A bit curious about full magne-traction and not complete metal edge?