Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm buying my first helmet and I can't decide should i buy a helmet with MIPS technology or is it an overkill for me?
I'm a beginner, this year would be the second time i'm going snowboarding.
Any feedback would be appreciated.

Best regards,
Eyal

·
Premium Member
88 Posts
How likely are you to try things that are beyond your ability in the park/trees and end up having a heavy impact?

I would suggest primarily focusing first on fit as depending whether the cross section of your head is more oval (Anon, Giro, ..) or round (Smith, ..) there will be brands that fit you better. From my experience I would not go for the hybrid style (e.g. Smith Vantage) for snowboarding as a beginner as I found the top section can break off if you catch your heel side edge and have a fall.

If you can then find a helmet that fits well with the features you want (e.g. how many vents depending on body heat/glasses wearing etc), that has MIPS as well that fits your budget then go for it.

·
Registered
5,753 Posts
Hi,

I'm buying my first helmet and I can't decide should i buy a helmet with MIPS technology or is it an overkill for me?
I'm a beginner, this year would be the second time i'm going snowboarding.
Any feedback would be appreciated.

Best regards,
Eyal
There's no such thing as overkill for a helmet. Beginner or not, the risk is about the same; actually it's inverted... you're at more risk of a serious head injury with less experience.

In the end, nobody "needs" MIPS. It's a choice.

MIPS is a technology which basically allows the helmet shell to rotate or slide around your skull during an impact.

·
Premium Member
2,992 Posts
Anecdotally, I've broken 2 helmets. Concussion after the helmet with MIPS was much less severe than after I broke a helmet without MIPS. That fucking sucked.