Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1,929 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
❄ Skimender RP360 Base Repair Pistol Review.

❄ Brand:
Skimender,
❄ Model: RP360 (Au/NZ 230v),
❄ Price: $Au369 ($US249.95) RRP,
❄ Sticks: 11.5mm x 190mm 100% pure hi-density polyethylene @$Au6.50 ($US5) per 10,
❄ Camera: Samsung Galaxy S8.

I have been doing repairs on Snowboards and Ski's for around 10 years now just from home. Initially I starting out just doing the sons and my boards as well as the wife's and daughters skis. So around 35 years ago I used to work in the surfboard industry for a number of years and gained a little bit of expertise with fibreglassing and repairs in this Industry. Doing Ski/Snowboard repairs sort of started out as a hobby doing my own gear but has grown into and enjoyable past time now. You get pretty rewarding satisfaction doing all your own tuning and consequently seeing how well it performs on the mountain. I decided about 6 years ago to put an add out to do wax/edges/base repairs for others and it has now grown year after year to around 50 customers just in my local City.

Now here's the big problem we have living in Australia, the local availability of snowboarding/skiing repair equipment is practically non existent compared with what's available in Europe and the US of A. As a result everything has to be purchased from overseas and shipped to Australia. Acquiring high quality gear ie ToKo, Swix, Diaface etc, needs to be almost 100% purchased from overseas.

I'd say now, I have around $4 to $5k of repair gear, racks and workshop setup. This is mainly as I have to stock up with bulk supplies of different temperature specific wax, a large variety of professional guides, 6 different ToKo vices/platforms as well as always having to have new Irons/ diamond stones/guides etc in storage for emergency in case something breaks down in the middle of season with jobs on hand.