Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
360 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
With what happened to Schumacher and others when do you know if its something really serious

I hit my head after wiping trying to avoid someone. Had helmet but felt a slight "brain rattle". 6 hours later I'm feeling OK but a sliiiight headache.

·
Registered
277 Posts
I'm not a doctor so take my advice with a grain of salt. A headache after a heavy hit to the head is normal, in which case some advil and sleep is a good idea. If you are seeing lights or spots then you might have a concussion, and I would suggest taking a break for a few days.

·
Registered
468 Posts
That's why you pay attention, if you think it was hard enough.... goto the hospital.
If things start getting worse for no reason.... like you're lying down and you notice your head starts to hurt like crazy, goto the hospital.

·
Premium Member
2,936 Posts
With what happened to Schumacher and others when do you know if its something really serious

I hit my head after wiping trying to avoid someone. Had helmet but felt a slight "brain rattle". 6 hours later I'm feeling OK but a sliiiight headache.
Not to sound like an ass, but if you're that worried, ditch the forum and get yourself to the ER. You might not be dead right now, but things can change very quickly. The internet is quite possibly the worst place to go to diagnose possible head injuries.

·
Registered
3,557 Posts
as you also know when you have a serious concussion you need to be woken up regularly

Know how and what to look for in a concussion. There is a lot more to them then was previously thought by the medical profession. Used to be you got your bell rung, take 2 aspirin, quit whining and deal with it, not so much anymore

·
Resident Snowman
609 Posts
as you also know when you have a serious concussion you need to be woken up regularly