Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys in a couple weeks I'm off to Japan to spend a week on the slopes and i was wondering about the differences of riding deep snow compared to standard main run stuff. I am a beginner, I've only had a couple of days with a board, so any advice will be much appreciated.

·
Registered
315 Posts
Hi guys in a couple weeks I'm off to Japan to spend a week on the slopes and i was wondering about the differences of riding deep snow compared to standard main run stuff. I am a beginner, I've only had a couple of days with a board, so any advice will be much appreciated.
Powder riding is different than groomed piste riding - you steer with the whole base of the board rather than just the edges

If you can surf, skate or wakeboard those skills will help you.

What board will you be taking, or are you renting?

·
Registered
796 Posts
You're probably gonna have a bad time lol noobs don't do well in powder, make sure you have a powder board at least, to stop the back leg pain

·
Registered
392 Posts
You're probably gonna have a bad time lol noobs don't do well in powder, make sure you have a powder board at least, to stop the back leg pain
Yep, unfortunately spot on. Please tell me you ride on your toeside at least...

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

·
Registered
751 Posts
Powder riding is different than groomed piste riding - you steer with the whole base of the board rather than just the edges

If you can surf, skate or wakeboard those skills will help you.

What board will you be taking, or are you renting?
I second this. Powder riding is not crazily hard once you get this. You should be fine in a day or two if you got the basic riding down. Just ride where you can see where you are going all the time and where you have plenty of space to fall.