Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Premium Member
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As I noted in a previous thread, I'm new to boarding. Just started in late November. I'm still getting used to speed and have been practicing straight runs a bit. My problems are - when I build up what I think is too much speed I: 1) tend to lean back or "sit in the back seat." (It is almost instinctual for me. It is as if I'm so afraid of the speed that I'm leaning away from it!); 2) get too nervous if I feel I'm going to fast and go into a turn. I'd like to get over that fear. I get especially nervous on steeper terrain.

Any advice?

·
Destroying Worlds Since 2015
6,515 Posts
Find a nice straight easy slope where you are able to build up more speed than you're comfortable with. Go 3/4 of the way down, stop, note your location, and straight-line it the rest of the way. If you're comfortable with that, then next time stop 20 feet higher up the slope. Rinse, repeat. Any time you feel sketchy, do it again a couple of times without starting higher. Keep it up until you desensitize yourself to the speed.

·
Registered
2,055 Posts
Stay outta the backseat, and push yourself a little beyond what you're comfortable with. In other words, ride aggressively. Keep your weight forward, and don't fear the speed. It really is just a practice thing. The more you ride, the more comfortable you will get with speed. Also, what Donutz said is good too. :)

·
Premium Member
1,223 Posts
Staying out of the backseat is very difficult for new riders because it is actually INSTINCTUAL. It is quite normal to move our arguably most important organ (brain) as far away from our direction of travel so that it is the last thing to collide with any obstacle.