Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner
1 - 20 of 214 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I finally got on the 20/21 Orca after hearing all the hype. Rode it 4 days on PNW pow days. For reference I've been riding for about 20 years, going hard for the past 3 years and got into park, my other boards are the Warpig and the DOA, was looking into getting a free ride pow board to balance out the quiver.

I don't understand the hype behind it. It is damp, charges chunder, and floats well, but the magnetraction really throws me off. It gets grabby and slow during a carve on soft snow, doing quick speed checks feels sluggish as well. I'm sure it'll do great on firm and icy snow. But why would I take the orca out on a non pow day?

I'm going to sell it and get the k2 excavator instead. Glad I tried it but am I riding it wrong? What is so great about it. It carves so-so on groomers, gets real grabby when trying to carve on soft snow or pow. And skidded turns feels off as well. I have a lot more fun on the Warpig in pow than the Orca.

Maybe hybrid techs aren't for me, I didn't care much for the Bataleon evil twins 3bt either, it was great on rails but felt too washy on firm icy snow and side hits.

·
Registered
1,846 Posts
I owned an orca and returned it before even riding it. Just felt too overhyped.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
425 Posts
Mind elaborating? Their camber profiles have always confused me but I've been interested in them for a hot minute.
You got a nice floaty rocker nose for easy entry and one set of edge disruption just at the insert packs with camber between the feet and clean edge between the insert packs. For
me it’s a better version of what mervins trying to do with awesome float and camber snap
and enhanced edge bite for
Ice without the looses grabby mess of rocker & edge bumps between the inserts

·
Registered
347 Posts