Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
360 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
would like to start this since i need help and am now addicted to glade riding

tried it for the first time last year at Stowe in vermont. got my ass KICKED, but absolutely LOVED it. just such a more interesting/fun/back-to-nature type experience that i have never had on a trail (at least on the east coast).

i would say i am a novice rider. extremely comfortable on most, if not all trails. but i got worked in the trees. every couple turns i was eating it. fell into a tree well and was tired as hell by the time i got out.

so, any advice? i know you're supposed to kind of look through the trees and pick your line and attack it with confidence.

another thing i think threw me off is my boots are very ill-fitting and will be replaced this year. i think that might have had an affect on my confidence in the trees.

·
Reformed Creep-o-saurus
6,863 Posts
so, any advice? i know you're supposed to kind of look through the trees and pick your line and attack it with confidence.
Okay so other than the usual comments from the peanut gallery:

- You must be CONFIDENT in your regular riding before getting into the glades. Mistakes are much more costly. Spend the time getting GOOD on-piste before venturing too far off.

- Slow down at first, it takes time to get used to reading the terrain

- Pick a gladed run that's less steep than you usually are comfortable on, and make sure it's not heavily gladed:

These..

will be easier than these...

- once you've built the skill and taken the time, it's all about reading the terrain and planning your route a turn or two ahead. Learn how to make speed checks while travelling straight. Learn how to fall. Wear armour. :wavetowel2:

·
Registered
1,462 Posts
Okay so other than the usual comments from the peanut gallery:
These..

will be easier than these...

:wavetowel2: