Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

Im Paul and I live in Australia. Im relatively new to snowboarding having just completed my third snowboarding experience across 5-6 years. After my most recent trip something clicked and I am now super hooked on snowboarding. Ive been doing heaps of research on boards and have seen some great advice offered to others on here and think I need the same to wade through all the information out there. Im sure you guys get this a lot but any help at all would be greatly appreciated.

My specs are as follows;
174cm tall
83kg

I rode a rental 154cm board recently and enjoyed it but im ready to buy my own board. Ive done heaps of research and I like the look of a couple of K2 boards. I would describe myself as an all mountain rider. I enjoyed doing tricks in the park but also like free riding, so im looking for a board that can conquer both.

Ive looked at the 2014 K2 Ultra dream and K2 Raygun. I like the look of both but I have a few concerns. The raygun looks awesome but Im worried about its durability as some reviewers have said it dings easily. Also of concern is size. With my height and weight a 156cm board is recommended but Ive never ridden that large. The Ultra Dream seems sturdier but is a step up in price which I would be willing to make if its worth it. I plan to do a trip to either Canada or Japan at the end of the year and would also look to do some more trips here in Australia and over in New Zealand if that helps. I managed on my recent trip to land some 180's, 360's and various grinds and presses as well as some carving at Mt Perisher. If anyone can offer recommendations on these boards and what size I should get Id be super grateful. Alternatively if anyone knows another board that would be more suited im happy to hear from them as well.

A massive thanks in advance!

·
Registered
231 Posts
Hey Paul,