Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

Turny freeride daily driver

1890 33
Hello, new to the forum and looking for some board advice. Would be very thankful for any input!

I've been riding for a few years. Currently riding a 164w Rossignol XV and a Burton Skeleton key 162.

I mainly enjoy riding side- and backcountry, seeing how much flow I can get in my riding down technical terrain. When it hasn't snowed in a while or when the groomers are good I enjoy some carving also. And powder when there is any ofc.

While my riding has mainly been focused on learning proper turning/carving and navigating terrain a few side hits are starting to sneak in there too.

My home mountain is Chamonix and while I stay away from any of the really gnarly stuff here (and boy can it get gnarly) I still end up navigating steep icy sections to get to the good stuff or following friends from time to time. There's a lot of open terrain here and I end up riding less trees here than at other resorts.

I weigh around 165 lbs/75 kgs without gear and I have size 10 boots.

I bought my current boards when I hadn't been riding for very long and was clueless regarding sizing.

I'm basically looking for something a little more mellow than the XV that I already own and like. Sometimes I think of just sizing down on that but that's a bit boring :) I really like it because it feels locked in when on edge and you can do really deep carves with it. But it's also easy to slide around in tricky terrain because of all the rocker in the tip and tail. The tail is almost never in the way. The nose is also sufficently floaty and I don't have to adapt my riding very much in powder.