Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

Yeah so as the title says looking to buy a board, I'm pretty new to snowboarding and don't know much.
Last year-ish I hit my 1st jumps the 3rd time I've ever been on a snowboard I was stoked!!!!
The past 2 years I've gone 3 times this year will be my 4th, but I would like to buy my own board instead of renting or borrowing boards.
The only brand name I know of are Burton basically because my friends have them.
I've been looking at some sites, but I don't even know what to look for! :dunno:

Just a little of what I'm looking for and about me.

-I'm 5'5", 120lbs, I'm 24 years old and I have 8.5 DC Phase boots.
-Something between a cruiser board and maybe just a little park shenanigans.
-I will usually go to Big Bear or Mammoth Mountain in Southern California.
-Which shape board should I get?(Traditional Camber, Rocker, Flat, ect.)
-A board that I will be happy with for years.

I'm not looking to be hitting the park a lot just some random jumps and boxes.
Also I'd like to find something in the $250 a bit lower or higher will be fine with spending.
If anyone has some suggestions of specific boards or even what shape I should be looking for it will be appreciated!

Thank you,
-Justin

·
Registered
1,618 Posts
Is your budget for board and bindings or just board?

At your weight you're on the border between youth and adult boards, you'll typically be buying the smallest size adult board. I would avoid kids boards.

Consider burton custom or burton process in 152-154 cm sizing. Both can be had either camber or CRC hybrid profiles, which burton calls Flying V. If it's icy where you ride go camber otherwise Flying V gives a loose more skatey feel that you might like for the park.

Look on craigslist and ebay, buy the one that is newest/in best condition that meets your price point.