Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So this is my first time going out Whistler BC. whata re some must haves when going out there? I want to do some back country riding if I can.

I am pretty sure we are doing a guided Cat trip one day.

Any help is appreciated. So Far:

1) Travel Bag
2) Possibly buying a powder board

·
Premium Member
1,349 Posts
Helmet
Goggles
Gloves
Layers (Jacket, Under-Puffy, Poly base)
Pants are a must
Undies
Socks
Boots, Definitely bring boots!
Whatever board you get (I heard Capita's Charlie Slasher is good stuff) set the bindings back if the powder is deep.
Hot Tub attire, too.
Hmm, chapstick

should i stop, now? Haha Have fun, man!

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Helmet
Goggles
Gloves
Layers (Jacket, Under-Puffy, Poly base)
Pants are a must
Undies
Socks
Boots, Definitely bring boots!
Whatever board you get (I heard Capita's Charlie Slasher is good stuff) set the bindings back if the powder is deep.
Hot Tub attire, too.
Hmm, chapstick

should i stop, now? Haha Have fun, man!

I guess I was seeing if I really need a Probe, shovel, and beacon is a necessity if I am just doing one day of guided cat tours and probably staying on the resort areas. Maybe a camelback? stuff like that

·
Premium Member
1,349 Posts
I guess I was seeing if I really need a Probe, shovel, and beacon is a necessity if I am just doing one day of guided cat tours and probably staying on the resort areas. Maybe a camelback? stuff like that
I would check with the Cat Guides, but I would assume no need for BSP, they aren't usually necessary in resort territory. That being said, if you have BSP, then it is good to have it with you. There have been cases of in-bounds slides. Also, a key way to fight altitude sickness is hydration, so your camelback isn't a bad idea. If it is a big enough pack, you can plan layers (carried or stored) in it for weather variability.

·
Registered
816 Posts