Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums banner
1 - 20 of 68 Posts

·
Registered
964 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Had a close call last week while riding and It got me thinking about the about the whole no helmet thing.

I have been riding for almost 14 years (since I was a kid) and in this whole time never wore a helmet. I have been pretty lucky so far and haven't had any serious injuries aside for a pretty bad bump to the head when I was in the sixth grade.

Last week I took a pretty good tumble riding through some trees. I didn't get hurt but if I fell 6" in the other direction, the back of my had would have hit a tree trunk HARD.

I have been thinking about the close call ever since and I think I'm going to use these end of season sales to buy a helmet for myself and one for the gf.

I think most people on here wear helmets while they ride. Most guys I grew up snowboarding with who now wear helmets because they either had an injury or a close call. I'm curious what made you guys start wearing a helmet? Have you always wore one, parents made you, or did you learn the hard way?

·
Premium Member
3,157 Posts
High velocity and the fact that I have children that I'd like to remember when I get old.

·
Premium Member
1,223 Posts
I wore a helmet randomly my first year. It was warmer than my hat, so I would wear it on cold days. One day without it, I had slipped on some ice and didn't hit my head, but was just sitting down on the ice patch in a flat area. I simply laid back (imagine a snow angel with a board on) and my head hit the ice. It was NOT hard by any means, but it did not feel good. I thought to myself, if it was that uncomfortable for my head to hit the ice while slowly laying down in a relaxing manner, imagine how bad it would be if I fell while actually riding.

I've worn one every day after that.

·
Registered
1,853 Posts
Was easier than headphones and the protection against cutting my head open was a plus.

·
Premium Member
6,213 Posts